Arakunrin Akeredolu

ODSIP Newsletter Vol.1 No.3

With its current population of over three million, Ondo State was one of the seven States created on 3rd February, 1976 by the regime of Late General Muritala Mohammed. Popularly called the Sunshine State, it is reputed as having the second largest Bitumen deposit in the world and largest in Africa. The State is also blessed with vast Agricultural resources.

Ondo State shares borders with the Atlantic Ocean in the South, Osun State in the North-west, Ogun State in the South-west, Edo State in the East, Ekiti State in the North, Kogi State in the North-east and Delta State in the South-east, with a total land mass of 14,788,723 square kilometres and a population of over three million (according to 2006 census).