Ondo Inaugurates Committee on Service Innovation Challenge

In its bid to further strengthen the civil service for effective service delivery, the Ondo State Head of Service, Pastor Kayode Ogundele has set up a committee on Service Innovation Challenge. Speaking on Wednesday at the inauguration, Pastor Ogundele disclosed that the desire to make civil servants think and do things differently for optimal results informed the setting up of the committee.

He expressed optimism that the committee would complement other earlier efforts of the present administration in the state to reposition the service for better performance. ‘When you look at the civil service today, we complain, they are indolent… If people are not thinking, they would definitely be indolent. We need to create a kind of environment where we will make people start thinking. Thinking of what they can add in terms of value to the system’ Ogundele posited.

‘It is clear that the civil service of today demands the need to justify why we are there. We need to let the government know that these people actually matter’. ‘So, it is we must put the template in place that will challenge our people to begin to think of innovation, think of how to improve the system and do things better.’ He added.

Earlier in his remarks, the Administrative Secretary of the Reform Office in the office of the Head of Service, Mr Adewale Omomowo, while noting that the task of driving government policies and programmes, said the era of conservatism was gone it was imperative to evolve new ideas that would impact the system. According to him, with the new innovation, ideas of individual civil servants would be harnessed and subject to critical analyses to achieve better running of the system.

 In his response on behalf of other committee members, the Chairman of the committee and Permanent Secretary of the state Ministry of Economic Planning and Budget, Mr. Bayo Philip gave assurance that the committee would carry out its duties accordingly with the seriousness it deserved.

Other members of the committee include the Permanent Secretary in the state Ministry of Health, Pharm. Mrs. Folukemi Aladelola, her counterpart, Mr. Femi Aladelola and the Administrative Secretary in the state Reform Office, Mr. Adewale Omomowo.


Sina Adeyeye
Office of the H.o.S